HOW TO IMPROVE YOUR ENGLISH CONVERSATION SKILLS

What’s up guys!!!

Today, I’d like to share some useful methods to improve your English conversation skills even if you live in a country where you have no opportunity to practice.

Let’s start!

Speak, speak and speak

It would be great if you had someone to practice with, but don’t worry if you don’t find English speakers around.

You may use the internet to look for a partner to make a language exchange through Skype, I recommend that you try these websites:

http://www.language-exchanges.org/

http://www.italki.com/

call

There are more similar websites, but these ones I mentioned above are really good.

Another thing that you can do is Join a group or club in your city to practice your target language and that’s what I did, I joined  an English congregation, every week I can speak with someone.

Shadowing

Allow me to explain to you this word, perhaps this is the first time you have heard it.

Shadowing is the act of imitating a native speaker talking, especially when you use podcasts.

What I do is pick up a magazine or a book that is also available in audio.

audio

I choose one or two paragraphs and I focus on the way the speaker talks, for example:  when he stresses the words or how he links one word to another, I try to follow him and record myself and compare it over and over until I master it.

record

I practice this method every day 30 minutes, it helps me to say things in a natural and easy way.

Children learn to speak by repetition, we can follow this pattern and speak fluently.

Think in English all the time

90% of the time we think about ourselves in our native language, so try to use English and talk to yourself, at the beginning could be really hard, but after some time it becomes a habit.

 

sel2

If you talk to an English speaker regularly, think in advance about what to say in future conversations.

Something that helps me, too, is to record myself for 10 or 15 minutes, I usually talk about my day or something that  I’m interested and I see what I need to change when I speak.

Read aloud

read

When you read aloud you practice your pronunciation and after a while you’ll feel confident speaking, if you create the habit of reading aloud every day for 30 minutes or more, you’ll improve your English conversation skills.

Ok, let me thank you guys for reading my article. I’ll keep blogging more about some useful techniques to help you improve your English, please follow me and subscribe.

 

3 thoughts on “HOW TO IMPROVE YOUR ENGLISH CONVERSATION SKILLS”

Leave a Reply

